Governor Cuomo http://waer.org en SUNY Students Back Bill to Help Out-of-State Vets go to SUNY Colleges http://waer.org/post/suny-students-back-bill-help-out-state-vets-go-suny-colleges <p><span style="line-height: 1.5;">&nbsp;&nbsp;</span>A bill sits on Governor Andrew Cuomo’s desk that could make it easier for veterans to afford to go to college here in New York.&nbsp; <a href="http://www.sunysa.org/">The Student Assembly of the State University of New York</a> is lobbying for the measure.&nbsp; Communications Director Juliann Schindler explains it would open SUNY campuses to out-of-state vets.</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 13:05:53 +0000 Chris Bolt 21448 at http://waer.org SUNY Students Back Bill to Help Out-of-State Vets go to SUNY Colleges Cuomo Announces Plan to Help End AIDS Epidemic http://waer.org/post/cuomo-announces-plan-help-end-aids-epidemic <p>Central New York health agencies are praising Governor Cuomo’s efforts to put an end to the AIDS epidemic in New York State. Governor Cuomo announced his plan on Sunday, the same day as New York City’s PRIDE Parade. Cuomo’s goal is to reduce the number of HIV infections to 750 cases a year by the year 2020.</p> Tue, 01 Jul 2014 22:05:15 +0000 Hannah Warren 20452 at http://waer.org Cuomo Announces Plan to Help End AIDS Epidemic Gov. Cuomo Accepts Nomination to Seek 2nd Term with New Running Mate http://waer.org/post/gov-cuomo-accepts-nomination-seek-2nd-term-new-running-mate <div style="color: rgb(40, 40, 40); font-family: 'Segoe UI WPC', 'Segoe UI', Tahoma, 'Microsoft Sans Serif', Verdana, sans-serif; font-size: 15px; margin-top: 14pt; margin-bottom: 14pt;">Governor Cuomo was nominated to run for a second term, along with his freshly chosen running mate, former Western New York Congresswoman Kathy Hochul.</div><p> Thu, 22 May 2014 22:04:46 +0000 Karen DeWitt 18637 at http://waer.org Gov. Cuomo Accepts Nomination to Seek 2nd Term with New Running Mate GOP Hopeful for Governor Visits Syracuse, Slams Cuomo Record and Policies http://waer.org/post/gop-hopeful-governor-visits-syracuse-slams-cuomo-record-and-policies <p>The newly minted G-O-P hopeful for governor made clear distinctions between himself and Governor Cuomo in a visit to Syracuse today.&nbsp; <a href="http://robastorino.com/">Rob Astorino entered the race Wednesday.</a>&nbsp; He believes most people would come to the conclusion that New York is ‘losing.’</p> Fri, 07 Mar 2014 20:34:46 +0000 Chris Bolt 15189 at http://waer.org GOP Hopeful for Governor Visits Syracuse, Slams Cuomo Record and Policies Local Businesses, Homeowners Encouraged by Proposed Tax Reforms http://waer.org/post/local-businesses-homeowners-encouraged-proposed-tax-reforms <div>Central New York business leaders and homeowners are publicly expressing their support for Governor Cuomo’s $2 billion tax relief plan. &nbsp;They joined government officials Wednesday to urge the state legislature to approve the proposal. Wed, 15 Jan 2014 23:39:22 +0000 Hannah Warren 13164 at http://waer.org Local Businesses, Homeowners Encouraged by Proposed Tax Reforms